Three (not fifty) shades of white

I am fully assured that God loves me deeply and personally, but IF I ever wondered about his love for and grace toward me, I had full proof of them both at 12:45 PM on Saturday, March 11, 2017. Scott and I were at the dining room table playing Dominion over lunch when I glanced out the front window and nearly screamed, “It’s SNOWING!!!” And indeed, it was. And it continued steadily and at times heavily for the next two-and-a-half glorious hours.

Our weather so far this spring has fluctuated wildly and frequently, with temps nearly up to 80 one day and in the 40s the next. The spring peepers were out peeping for two days a few weeks ago, and then it went down to 24, and they were silent. The Bradford pears are just about done with their three-week show, dandelions are beginning to make their presence known, and on Friday, our plum trees suddenly (they always do this overnight) but a bit more hesitantly than usual began blooming. And then on Saturday, the merciful, magnificent snow!

I ran out on the porch, barefoot, just to grin and stomp and holler at the joyfulness of it, and that’s when I noticed that while I’ve always described the plum and Bradford pear blossoms as white, I don’t remember ever having had the opportunity to simultaneously compare both of them to Snow. I realized I was definitely seeing three varieties of white.

It was our first and LONG-awaited snow of the season, and I sighed with contentment; one of those sighs that means (a la Mark Gungor), “all’s right with the world.”

Let it snow!

1 Response to “Three (not fifty) shades of white”


  1. 1 servantofthesecretfire March 13, 2017 at 9:43 pm

    Forecast to get 2-4 inches tonight. LET IT SNOW!! (And please, please, please let Montpelier be closed!)


Leave a Reply

