Jeopardy question: What is 119?

Answer: The number of pennies it takes to buy a gallon of gas at Gateway on February 11, 2016.

I can’t remember the last time gas was $1.19/gallon.

I do know that when I was in 7th grade – let’s see. . . that would have been in about 1973 – gas prices suddenly skyrocketed from $0.23 to $0.26, and that was considered a horrific rise. Then in 1999, when we drove to Yellowstone, in South Dakota we paid more for a gallon of gas than I had EVER paid in my 39 years of life to that point: $1.96.

I paid $1.29 at Gateway yesterday, but if I had been a bit more patient, I could have saved all of $2.00 on my 20-gallon fill-up.

1 Response to “Jeopardy question: What is 119?”


  1. 1 servantofthesecretfire February 11, 2016 at 11:08 pm

    I vaguely remember gas being 90-something cents (97 or 99, I want to say) sometime in my childhood…


Leave a Reply

