Hijacking a list

Scott recently traveled to Virginia to visit Katie and Josiah.  He flew United from Springfield to Chicago to Dulles, and was scheduled to arrive Dulles at 12:01 AM.  Knowing that he planned to rent a car there and being pretty naive on such matters, I had asked him (with surprise), “Can you rent a car at midnight?!?”

“Sure!” was his response.  And since he is a world traveler and I am not, I said nothing more.

The day following his flight, I received this email from him:

“I arrived and had no bags and my rental car company was already closed, so I had to take a taxi. Arrived at the hotel at 2:30 AM. Nice hotel though. Meeting Katie soon. I got this notice from United. ‘We are still working to locate your baggage and will keep you updated every 6 hours until we do.’ Now my bags are said to be en-route and should arrive in Dulles at 11:30 AM today.”

He must’ve communicated the same information to Katie, because she copied me on her email to him, with the subject line “Katie’s Rules of Air Travel.”

Given your recent experiences, I thought you might be able to use a friendly reminder of these basic rules.

1. Never fly.
2. If you must fly between December and February, don’t fly. Driving, biking, hitchhiking, and jetskiing are all better options.
3. Never check a bag, unless it is completely unavoidable, in which case you should find a way to avoid it.
4. Never fly United.
5. Never fly on the last flight of the day.
6. Peanut butter is a liquid.
You’re welcome.
This list made me laugh out loud! How well I know whence she writes.  O, the supreme agony of the cancelled flights, the delays, the cancelled flights, the overnights in Chicago, the cancelled flights, and the peanut-butter-to-Hong-Kong nightmare.  (Did I mention cancelled flights?)  And these are only a subset of the MANY flight-related hassles Katie has endured.
1 Response to “Hijacking a list”


  1. 1 information September 26, 2014 at 10:49 am

    Hi! I’ve been following your weblog for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you
    a shout out from Austin Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the great work!


Leave a Reply

