Christmas in July

I have learned in the past few years that if I want to avoid a certain undesirable health situation, I have to carefully ration my consumption of sweets.  Sad, but true.  So I tend to store sugary treats and just eat a little bit of them over a period of time.  Andrew finds this totally amazing.  For example, late last year I was out at Silver Dollar City and bought some taffy.  I’m sure it was more than half a pound; it may well have been closer to a pound.  I brought it home and put it in my handy-dandy taffy drawstring bag, which I keep hidden in a place that only I know about.  Every so often, I go get a piece and let it slowly melt in my mouth.  Or I chew it like a maniac, hoping all my fillings stay in place.  Andrew, on the other hand, buys a bag of wintergreen mints – maybe 25 in the bag? – and they’re gone by bedtime.

Anyway, at Christmas time, my mom brought me a number of her homemade cherry pineapple bars.  They are exceedingly delicious and are one of my very favorite treats.  I ate a fairly embarrassing number of them at the time, but I cut the rest of them into small pieces and put them in the freezer.  There they have lived, shoved in the very back right corner of our freezer, for a time, times, and half a time.  Well, not really that long, but pretty long.  I actually tend to forget they are there, because we three all tend to push things into the freezer from the front, and the stuff in the back never sees the light of day.

So, a few months ago, I unearthed the cherry pineapple bars and started gradually working on them.  Yum, yum, yummy!  Sit one of those puppies out on a napkin to thaw for a few minutes, and it’s just exactly as good as it was at Christmas.

Today, July 5, I ate the last cherry pineapple bar.  It made me think of my mom and smile!

0 Responses to “Christmas in July”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


