So proud!

I overslept a bit this morning, so I was out walking later than usual.  Later means hotter and sweatier.  As I finished, Andrew met me on the porch with the following news:

Andrew:  The water heater went out.

Me:  Awww.  That’s not good.  Were you able to get it started?

Andrew:  No.

Me:  Did you try that re-set button Dad showed you?

Andrew:  I honestly don’t remember it.  And I looked in the owner’s manual, and what it says to do doesn’t make any sense, because it says to hold down this re-set button, but there’s a thing around it and usually there are two holes where you can actually push it down, but now the whole thing is to where they’re all covered and you can’t push anything.

Me:  Hmmm. . . Well, we really have to get it going because we can’t go without hot water.  (This of course, is not true, but it’s what I was thinking.  Scott, our resident water heater re-lighter,  was unavailable at the time.)

So, standing there in the kitchen, I resigned myself to yet another cold shower and figured that for the short term we’d just go back to washing clothes in cold and heating water on the stove for dish washing.  It’s surely been done many times before, so if necessary, we can do it again.

Before heading upstairs to my cold shower, which I knew would be most easily endured if taken promptly while I was still feeling rather overheated, I stood for a couple minutes in front of the fridge, listening to Andrew down in the cellar repeatedly pressing the pilot button.  Oh, it would be so very nice if that silly thing would light!  “Snap, snap, snap, snap,” it went, in a steady rhythm.  It wasn’t sounding very hopeful.  “Snap, snap, snap,” and then. . . silence.  Now, what did that mean?  Had he given up in disgust?  Or had the pilot finally lit?  I waited, not moving, hardly breathing, and not calling down there to ask the question, because I wasn’t willing to hear the discouraging answer.

I waited.

And waited.

And waited.

And then a soft “whoosh.”

I waited a few more seconds.  No sound from The Son in the Cellar.

Finally, I could stand it no longer.

Me:  [excitedly]  Did it light?!?

Andrew:  [trudging up the stairs with a thoroughly disgusted look on his face]  Yes.

Me:  [making big over the young man’s manly success]  GREAT!!!  You did it!!!  I’m so proud of you!!!

Andrew:  [gruffly, now transformed into the confident, competent provider-type]  I need to put a reminder in my phone to check it.

I’m so proud of him!

 

P.S.  Without any reminder from me, he checked it again 15 minutes later, and it was still lit.

0 Responses to “So proud!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

