Bonus sighting

Yesterday morning, when I stopped on the bridge to stretch my calves and look for turtles, I found a big one – nearly dinner plate size!  And I got an animal watching bonus I’ve never seen before.  The turtle was swimming under water, and he was pushing along a dead fish crosswise in front of him!  Several times he stopped and tried to gnaw at it, but lacking opposable thumbs, he was having a hard time holding his dinner steady, and it would float away.  Then he’d jerk forward and snap at it again.  I must say that watching a turtle try to eat a fish would fall into that very wide category of things I have never, ever done before.  Mr. Turtle didn’t make much progress during the few minutes I observed, but since I do love to learn, I found the process interesting.

0 Responses to “Bonus sighting”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

