It was a damp and stormy morning

I went out to walk this morning.

I had initially set my alarm for 5:45, because I needed to read (30 minutes), walk (45 minutes), harvest, water, and prune the garden (90 minutes), be out of my grubbies, showered, and looking tolerable (30 minutes) before those guys came to help cut up The Tree at 9:30.  I know those numbers don’t add up, but I like to have a little margin in my life.  But then we stayed up late, so right before I fell asleep, I re-set the alarm for 6:45.

This meant I headed out around 7:15, but while I was getting ready to go out, I noticed with great relief that the rain I had been hearing had evidently stopped.  Ahhh!  So I stepped out onto the porch. . .  and it started raining.  Sigh.  I left my memory verse cards on the porch swing, took a deep breath and began.

While I walked, the rain varied back and forth between virtually nothing, mist, drizzle, light rain, and heavy rain – complete with thunder and lightning.  By the end of the first lap, I was soaked to the skin and my floppy hat was flopped in front and dripping.  I thought about quitting, but since I do so hate to quit something I start, I kept going.  I was really glad I did.

Back home I showered, changed into dry clothes, washed all the wet stuff (including my shoes), and then threw it all in the dryer.

Drying tennis shoes is always a bit tedious.  I have learned from experience that the procedure is as follows:  Loosen the laces as much as possible.  Put the shoes in the dryer with a bunch of other clothes or towels.  Turn the dryer on.  When the shoes bounce the dryer door open, shove them back in, close the door, and re-start the dryer. Then, when the shoes bounce the dryer door open, shove them back in, close the door, and re-start the dryer.  Stay nearby, because in a few minutes, the shoes will bounce the dryer door open.  At that point, you will need to shove them back in, close the door, and re-start the dryer.  The next time the shoes bounce the dryer door open, shove them back in, close the door, and re-start the dryer. After about five such cycles, or when the other stuff in the dryer is dry, or when you simply cannot stand to repeat the process one more time, take the shoes out.  Again loosen the laces as far as you can without them coming un-laced.  Bend the tongues back as far as possible.  Take the shoes out onto the porch, and stand them up against the top stair in such a position that the afternoon sun will shine directly into them.  Given an hour of solid sun, they will be dry throughout.

Alternatively, forget that they are on the front step.  Leave them sitting there overnight.  In the morning, when you reach for them to go walk, they will not be there.  You will then remember that you left them out on the front step.  They will them be soggy with dew, and you will need to spend the day repeating the above paragraph.

It is now 8:30 PM, and I remember that my (formerly quite damp) shoes are out on the step.  I will go get them, with the fervent hope that the dew does not form till AFTER 8:30 PM at this time of year.  The thought of my forgotten shoes does, however, remind me of the sleeping bag.

A sleeping bag got wet on our camping excursion to Roaring River last weekend.  (Actually, MANY, MANY things got exceedingly wet on that trip.)  It happened to be one of our thickest sleeping bags.  It the campground, we hung it out to dry in the wind and sun, but as I hung it I noticed that it had an distinctive aroma about it.  Musty?  Stinky?  Teenaged boy-ish?  I couldn’t conclusively identify the odor, but it occurred to me that perhaps this was a sleeping bag that Josiah had used at some time for an extended period of time. . .

Anyway, I advocated laundering it, but My Hero voted against that.  My next suggestion was that we hang it out in the sun to air out – for an extended period of time.  Which he did, hanging it over the clothesline for me when we got home on Sunday afternoon.  All week, the weather was crisp in the mornings and warm and sunny in the afternoons with a mild breeze.  Very nice, and very good for fumigating an aromatic sleeping bag.

Every morning when I walked I would see that sleeping bag hanging there and think to myself, “this afternoon, when it’s warm and sunny, I really need to go smell that bag, and if it’s fresh and dry, I need to roll it up and put it away.”  I never dealt with it at the time I thought that thought because for one thing, I was on a time schedule, and for another, it was morning and the sleeping bag would surely be sporting some dew-induced dampness.

So this morning, as I completed my first lap in the pouring rain, I suddenly spied that sleeping bag, still on the clothes line where Scott had hung it six days ago.  Sigh.

I’ll go get my shoes now, and maybe tomorrow afternoon I’ll check out the sleeping bag.

0 Responses to “It was a damp and stormy morning”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


