Novum verbum

I have a decent vocabulary, actually probably a better than average vocabulary, so it’s not real often that I come across a word that I have never seen or heard before.  I did this week.

I was proofreading a manuscript for someone else, and this sentence appeared:  “Conversely, when someone criticizes and derogates their mate, it is a horrible indicator of betrayal.”

Derogate?

Ain’t never heard that’n before.

I do know that derogatory means disparaging, so I figured that to derogate would mean to put down or speak disparagingly of (and it does), but I was excited to learn a new word!

0 Responses to “Novum verbum”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

