Fast leak

A week ago, Andrew noticed that Scott’s car’s left rear tire was flat, and I do mean totally flat.  Flat enough that when he checked it, it didn’t move the tire gauge thing at all.  He aired it up, and we redoubled our commitment to have him check all the Honda tires once a week.  This is on his checklist, but it’s on the Saturday list, and he tends to simply disregard those lists on Saturdays and Sundays.  Sigh.

Yesterday, we pulled in the driveway from somewhere, and we both saw that that same tire was flat again.  Yes, totally flat, and totally flat is only good on abdomens.

I have decided that I like Taney County Tire & Towing.  Not only do they have a very nice, new, CLEAN comfortable waiting area, and a CLEAN bathroom, they have several employees that I recognize as really good mechanics who used to work at other shops in town.  And, as a bonus, when I called this morning to ask about getting my tire repaired, the guy said sure they could fix it, and no I wouldn’t need an appointment and bring it on in.

So I had Andrew pump that baby super full of air, and away we went.  We walked straight in and they took me with no wait.  Yes, they’d fix the flat.  Yes, they’d check all the other tires for leaks.  Yes, they could do an oil change on it at the same time, and, no, they wouldn’t sell me a tire I didn’t need.  They don’t do business that way, ma’am.  I read Better Homes and Gardens and Andrew read Car and Driver until the man came in to ask me where I kept my wheel lock key; it wasn’t in the trunk or in the glove compartment.

Hmmm. . . since I don’t even know what a wheel lock key IS, that was a great question.  I guess the car has had new wheels put on it at some point, and they have locks and you can’t get the lug nuts off without the key, and he can’t fix the tire if he can’t get the wheel off.  “Well,” I asked, “Let’s assume the worst case scenario and the wheel lock key is lost and gone forever.  THEN what would you do?”  They would go to O’Reilly’s and buy a wheel lock removal kit and get the wheel off that way and then put regular, non-locking lug nuts on it.  The look in his eye indicated that that process might be rather pricey.  I suggested that Andrew and I go look in the console between the seats.  Which we did.  It’s built-in plastic box buried under the center armrest, and it was full of all kinds of interesting “treasures,” including, lo and behold, a wheel lock key (hallelujah!) – which looked to me an awful lot like a 3/4″ long-nose socket, but what do I know?  I thought we were looking for a key.

So, the fast leak was fixed (it had been leaking around the rim, I’m told), the other tires were checked (all good, no leaks, plenty of tread), the oil was changed, most of the fluids were topped off, and I was not sold a tire I didn’t need.

We were out of there in about 45 minutes and $53, all told.  At just a skosh over $1.17 a minute, it was time and money well spent, if you ask me, and I will be glad to give Taney County Tire & Towing some business in the future.  When you drive old cars, giving such places some business is just about as normal as breathing.  = )

0 Responses to “Fast leak”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

