Go-to foods and the spellings thereof

I’m guessing that most women have these.  Or maybe it’s most families.  I have certain dishes (with food in them, duh!) that I tend to serve to guests or take to potlucks.  I don’t have a long list of these, however, and as this has been the “tourist” season for us, I think that my family may actually be getting tired of eating “company” food.

Here are a few things that you have probably eaten if you’ve been to our house for any length of time.

Hot spicy chicken on the grill

Creamy cheese potatoes

Baked beans

Batchelators

Cookie Dough Brownies

Cheese Spaghetti Casserole

Malisa’s Chicken Enchiladas

Tanora’s White Chili

Great Big Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Breakfast Casserole

I’ve made a fair amount of most of the above in the recent past.  It’s a good thing that they are all pretty tasty; we tend to eat up any leftovers before they go south.

In addition, I have been buying fruit in high gear.  Snacking on fruit works really well for me, but I vastly prefer to be able to grab it and go.  In other words, I don’t want to open the fridge and look at an apple and have to go to all (fourteen seconds of!) work to cut it and core it just to eat only half of it.  No, I want to look at some strawberries and grab a handful of them NOW and eat them immediately.  Maybe it’s that I just don’t like to delay my gratification.  In any case, I have developed a habit of buying a LOT of fruit and prepping it for ease of access and then munching on it off and on all day.  And well into the night.  = )

This week, since I was also providing lunch and snack food for the mission trip training camp, and since Jessica said fruit would be good for them to snack on, the fruit prep thing really went into overdrive.  Here’s the run-down:

8 pounds of strawberries

2 fresh pineapples

3 canteloupes

6 pounds of green grapes

2 watermelons

Typing this up reminds me that I need to cut up a canteloupe for breakfast.  And now, why is wordpress suddenly saying that I’m spelling canteloupe wrong?  Have I ALWAYS spelled it wrong?!?!?  That might qualify as a major sin. . .

(Three minutes later)

Well, friends, here’s the truth.  I looked it up, both online and in Webster’s print version, and I clearly need to repent in sackcloth and ashes!  I have been spelling canteloupe with a central “e” FOR FORTY YEARS and FOR FORTY YEARS I have evidently been WRONG!  I feel like Fonzie!  The word actually has a central “a,” which means that my “funny sign” at McKenna’s was not funny at all, and instead, the joke is on me!

Please do extend to me the courtesy of allowing me to amend my list above to indicate that I bought three cantaloupes, one of which must needs be cut for breakfast.  However, I am too tired to do it now.  Said cutting shall have to wait till the morning.

0 Responses to “Go-to foods and the spellings thereof”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

