Can I pay you now?

Andrew and I went to Wal-Mart this morning, as is our usual Wednesday morning custom, and one of the things on our list was a Wii.  Yes, I know that’s hard to believe, but we were buying a Wii.  Actually, we (no pun intended!) weren’t buying it; our vacation rental home was, but since it can’t walk to Wal-Mart, we were making the purchase in its behalf.

I, of course, know absolutely nothing about a Wii or a Wii remote or a Wii nunchuk, and I surely don’t understand why they all have to be the same color, but Andrew knows such things, so I asked him to get the electronics associate to open the Wii case, and I told him I was going on with the grocery shopping and to meet me on the other side.

Shortly he called after me that I had to pay for it there in electronics, so I turned back and began the ten minute(?) process of trying to pay for the Wii and its nunchuk.  You wouldn’t think it would be so hard.  The very helpful and friendly electronics lady rang it up and told me the total.  I swiped my card, and the screen said, “transaction invalid, keys not entered.”  Hmmm. . .  I told her that’s what it said and she asked me to try again.  I did, with the same result.  We tried it several times, with her doing whatever on the machine on her side of the counter in between.

Then she came around to my side and did something that I didn’t quite follow but which may have been essentially re-booting the little card swipe gizmo.  We then had to wait quite a long time for it to think things over, and e-v-e-n-t-u-a-l-l-y the payment screen reappeared.

I swiped my card and got to see the “transaction invalid, keys not entered” screen yet again.  At that point, she began the laborious process of canceling out the transaction on that register and re-ringing our purchases on the other register.

I had had in mind the goal of getting home by 9:45, having the groceries up by 10:00, and getting Andrew going on his academics, but that did not happen today.

Here’s a word to the wise:  If you need to pay for a purchase in the electronics department, always go the register on the LEFT.

 

0 Responses to “Can I pay you now?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

