Around the world in 80 days?

Actually 29 days.

Jessica’s Christmas box finally made it to her location in Hong Kong!  She was out of country when it arrived, but it was waiting for her at her home when she returned.  She was pleased with the contents, which we got to watch her unwrap over Skype a few days ago.

On Saturday, when I took the previously-promised cookies to Brian, Connie overheard me telling him that Jessica’s package had finally gotten to her.  She said that if we had the right paperwork, she would be able to track it and see why it took so long to get there.  Sure, enough, a copy of my receipt was located there in the post office’s stack of such items, and she pulled up my package’s transit details on her computer.  For inquiring minds who would like to know, here’s where a package really goes when I mail it from here to Hong Kong.

Rockaway Beach, MO

Springfield, MO

Forest Park, IL

Jersey City, NJ

New York, NY

Hong Kong

I guess the box was worn out, because although it managed to depart Missouri in a mere two days, it spent the next eight days lounging around in Jersey City.  In fact, all told, that package bumped around for sixteen days before it ever left the States, and twelve more days elapsed between its departure from the U.S. of A. and its arrival at the Office of Exchange in Hong Kong.

Since I know from experience that the average plane can get to there in under 24 hours, the only thing I can figure is that Jessica’s package took a slow boat to China!

1 Response to “Around the world in 80 days?”


  1. 1 hab318 January 16, 2013 at 7:02 pm

    Speaking of Christmas boxes, I got some cookies in the mail yesterday. 😀 😀 😀

    I think I’ll have one for breakfast.

    (The cranberry bars – or whatever their name is that I can’t recall at the moment – were sadly melted into a blob. However, I’m sure they’ll still taste good!)


Leave a Reply

