High and lifted up

Our new mattress and box springs foundation were to be delivered today between 11:30 and 1:30.  I had specifically requested before 11:00 or after 2:00, because I had a lunch appointment today, but when the guy called last night, he said it had to be between 11:30 and 1:30.  Okay.

He called around 10:00 to say that he’d be early, probably around 11:00.  That was fine with me, so I kept reading to Andrew and waiting for their arrival (after which I would go to lunch).

While I was reading, Andrew said suddenly, “Mom!  I just saw a Furniture Row truck go by!”  I called the guy and told him that I thought he had just passed our house.  No, that would have been a different Furniture Row truck.  He was on his way to our house, toward Forsyth.  When I told him I lived back the other way, he was surprised.  “But the GPS. . . ”  Yes, the GPS always says we live in a place where we don’t.  He turned around and in a few minutes, two guys in shorts (it was about 40 degrees and windy) showed up.

They were here all of ten minutes to haul the old out and bring the new in, and I must say I was impressed.  Even with our low ceilings, they managed to bring in a king without slamming the ceiling light fixtures or knocking pictures off of the walls.  It was a close run thing.

There’s this liquid protectant stuff we were to spray all over the mattress, and I recruited Andrew to help with that.  Then, after a long leisurely lunch, I returned home to make up the bed.  This is not small task.  Heating pads, mattress pad, bottom sheet, top sheet, quilt, comforter.  I got it done, and now it’s time for us to see how it sleeps.  The thing is, with the new mattress and foundation, it’s a lot higher than it used to be, but I’m pretty sure I can still get in bed without a stool!

0 Responses to “High and lifted up”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

