Only three more nights

Scott has been having a lot of back, neck, shoulder, and hip problems, and we think they are being exacerbated – if not caused – by our old mattress.  When the mattress began to wear out some (enter a number here) years ago, we turned the whole thing 90 degrees.  This was comfortable for a while, and still is quite fine for me, but it has been tough hip-wise for Scott.  When it dawned on him a week ago that the hip pain might be caused by the gap between the two box springs right there, he spun the bed 90 degrees, so that the box springs would once again be going up and down, instead of side to side.  He told me about the change, so I was aware of it, but I didn’t figure it would matter at all to me, because generally, as long as you give me a fairly firm surface, I can sleep on it.

Boy, was I ever wrong!

I lay down that night and could NOT get my back comfortable and it took a long time to fall asleep.  I woke up with a mild ache in my lower back and thought, “This cannot continue!”  But Scott’s been in much worse pain than that for MONTHS!

So tonight we went to Denver mattress and found one that’s both firm enough for me and soft enough for him – we hope.  It will be delivered on Thursday, which means Scott only has to endure three more nights of not sleeping well, unless he drags his pillow to the attic and uses Katie’s bed.

2 Responses to “Only three more nights”


  1. 1 Katie January 8, 2013 at 1:38 pm

    Well, those 3 nights won’t be any fun, but I am SO glad you found a cause of the problem!

  2. 2 Katie Roberts January 8, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    also, you used my favorite word!


Leave a Reply

