What I told Anna

Anna used to babysit our kids when they were. . . well, we lived in Little Rock then, so they were less than and up to six, four, and two.  Her brother is getting married this week, and she and I were e-reminiscing over times past.  Her and Dan’s kids are now about six (or maybe seven?) and two.  We chatted back and forth, and when she asked if Katie would be returning to Missouri after graduation, I wrote:

“Katie has taken a job with a small non-profit corporation that works with ministries to help them arrange funding through payroll deductions.  It’s based in Virginia, near D.C., about 30 minutes from her college.  Please note that she will continue to live some 1000 miles (18 hours’ drive) from Walnut Shade!  Yes, I am warning you now.  This is what those adorable, brilliant, highly motivated first graders do 15 years later.  Love every minute with them now – even those minutes, hours, days, weeks, and months when they make you want to scream and pull your hair out.  And when YOU are 51, I will send you a funny note and say, “I told you so!”   Not to mention the fact that Josiah will be starting college at the same school in August. . . EIGHT YEARS of kids in college 1000 miles away – and one on the other side of the world – and the me home alone with the most challenging one in the bunch!

“But God has been SO AMAZINGLY GOOD to us, and I am so proud of all of them, and I have very few regrets.”

0 Responses to “What I told Anna”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

