My grocery decisions

In light of these self-evident truths:

1.  Wal-Mart’s produce leaves much to be desired.

2.  Harter House has generally good produce at generally high prices.

3.  Country Mart has generally good produce at extremely high prices.

4.  Most pre-packaged goods are much cheaper at Wal-Mart.

5.  The Harter House weekly specials that begin on Wednesday of each week are unknown to me (and therefore cannot be planned for) until Thursday’s mail runs.

6.  Harter House is 12 miles from home.

7.  Country Mart is 10 miles from home.

8.  Wal-Mart is 8 miles from home.

9.  Wal-Mart rarely has in stock at any given time the full list of things I’d like to buy there.

10.  Wal-Mart’s strawberries must be eaten the day they are purchased.

11.  No matter how much fruit I buy at any given store on any given day, it will be too much and some of it will go bad before we eat it.

12.  No matter how much fruit I buy at any given store on any give day, it will not be enough and we will run out of some of it before I get to a store again.

13.  Someone will want something from the store I just went to, right after I get home.

14.  I YEARN with deep longing for the days when I shopped at the grocery and at Wal-Mart on the same day, only ONCE a week. . .

My current plan is to go to Wal-Mart once a week and Harter House once a week.  When and how to do this with minimal trips away from home is yet to be determined.

0 Responses to “My grocery decisions”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

