Comic relief in the mailbox

Andrew brought the mail in today, and in the stack was an over-sized envelope  from Robert F. Kennedy, Jr.

Now, Mr. Kennedy and I are by no means on a first-name basis, so I was somewhat surprised to receive mail from him, addressed to me personally.  On the outside of the envelope, next to a photo of a polar bear climbing out of the sea onto an iceberg, were these words:

“Big oil companies and trophy hunters are now waging an attack on polar bears that Sarah Palin set in motion.  Sign the petition to save the polar bears.”

For some reason, that made me laugh.  So now Sarah Palin is attacking polar bears.  Sheesh.  Even if she is, is THAT supposed to make my blood boil?  Instead, it made me laugh.  Maybe it was because I daily find myself in a parenting struggle with a kid whose heart I am determined to wrestle for relentlessly while there is hope.  Maybe it’s because another child of ours has spent the past three-and-a-half months giving everything she has and then some to take the gospel to people on the other side of the world, some of whom have never before had the opportunity to hear that good news.  Maybe it’s just because I, who live about as Far to the Right as Mrs. Palin does, am so much more concerned about our nation’s OTHER left-leaning tendencies (nationalized banking, nationalized industry, nationalized health care, increased taxes, increased social spending, illegal immigration, less effective defense, all that money we owe China, homosexual marriage, abortion, spineless legislators, judicial activism – need I go on?) than I am about the Palin/polar bear war that this particular piece of junk mail just seems ridiculous!  In any case, that envelope made me laugh out loud.

Before tossing it unopened into File 13, I flipped it over.  On the back I was informed that the “N(ational) R(esources) D(efense) C(ouncil) has been awarded the 4-star top rating by http://www.charitynavigator.org and meets every standard of the Better Business Bureau Wise Giving Alliance.”  Below that, it says, “FREE Polar Bear S.O.S. Canvas Tote Bag.”

While I am truly thankful that I still live in a country where we are all free to give to the charity of our choice, I think I’ll stick to the church and those doing its work.  Bob, I’m going to pass on the polar bear tote, but thanks for the laugh.

I think I’ll pass.

0 Responses to “Comic relief in the mailbox”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

