Getting to the concrete

I was doing so well at my daily posts, and I really do enjoy writing them, but somehow I have managed not to write in a week.  I mentioned this to Jessica and said something like, “I don’t know what happened.”  She cheerfully replied, “life happened.”  I guess it did.

The nicest thing that happened in life lately was that KATIE CAME HOME for spring break!!!  She arrived Wednesday night, and we were in and out of the airport to pick her up in less than 15 minutes.  Scott planned to treat us to Andy’s frozen custard, and as we were in two cars, we had a little adventure in getting there.

The route to the new airport is convoluted, to say the least.  Generally, we go way out west on 60 to 44, then back east three miles to the airport exit, then north-ish for several miles to the airport.  It’s a long trek, but it’s virtually all freeway, some of it even at 70 mph, which is nice.

The route that the signage expects you to take you is 60 to West ByPass, north to Chestnut Expressway, west across 44, then north-ish several miles to the airport.  We’ve never gone that way, because Scott is usually driving and he insists that The Great Western Loop is shorter.  He further claims that The Great Western Loop is also shorter than just taking 65 north to 44, west to Chestnut Expressway, and then, of course, north-ish for several miles to the airport, but one time I did set out to prove him wrong by clocking the mileage of both those routes.  It turns out that The Great Western Loop was shorter than the Sixty-Five to Forty-Four Straight Shot by three miles, BUT we still didn’t know how The Great Western Loop compared to the Through Town on West ByPass option.

Wednesday night, when we left the airport to head to Andy’s (at 60 and Campbell, for those of you following this saga on google maps), Scott was driving the Honda, and Yours Truly was chauffeuring the kids in the van.  I knew that in order to traverse The Great Western Loop, I wanted to head west on 44 (even though that is TOTALLY counter-intuitive to going southeast) , and I noted a sign that I needed to be in the right lane to get on the entrance ramp to 44 west.  In the right lane I was, and in the right lane I stayed, but sadly no entrance ramp did appear.

The next sign I saw was for a left turn over and onto 44-east, which I knew I did not want, so I just stayed in my right lane and kept straight, sailing over 44 and heading who-knew-where down I-had-no-idea-which road.

I soon discovered that I was on Chestnut Expressway, actually quite close to West ByPass (that is, nearly into town), and we tooled on down West ByPass through many green lights (it was after 9:30 PM, after all) to 60 and thence east to Campbell, where we pulled into Andy’s a mere two minutes after Scott.  Who, as it turned out, had secretly purposed to take whichever route I didn’t take, so as to determine if the Through Town on West ByPass option was indeed faster than The Great Western Loop.

Final analysis:  When there is no traffic (late at night or in the wee hours of the morning) going Through Town on West ByPass takes about the same amount of time as – though involves more miles than – The Great Western Loop.  When there is traffic (6:30 AM to 9:00 PM), The Great Western Loop will get you to and from the airport more quickly.

So, much was learned, and we did all enjoy our frozen custard treats.  Katie and I give two thumbs up to a shared small Peanut Butter Cup Concrete.

0 Responses to “Getting to the concrete”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

