Happy Birthday, Scott!

Well, I think we accomplished the goal, which was to show Scott in a big way how much he is loved and appreciated.

A number of his friends and family members sent cards with great messages, and he received several VERY special and wonderful gifts.

Having decided that shopping for Scott is a completely futile endeavor, this year I invited a number of people to email me their thoughts of encouragement, humor, and/or appreciation for Scott.  I then printed them out and put them into a booklet, which I presented to My Hero on His Big Day.  From the very first page, it was a significant Kleenex event.  He was really touched by all those words of affirmation, and even those the tears were dripping off his face, I know he was blessed.

However, all that was small potatoes compared to Jessica’s gift.  She created the most amazing video for her dad.  She knows that he really likes one of her piano pieces (I think it’s called “Sundown”).  She recorded herself playing it, and then laid video and text over the music.  Oh. My.  (BTW, she used Josiah’s wireless head phones INSIDE the piano to do the recording.  Creative lady.)

She put together an incredible collection of crazy, tender, and funny pictures and videos, some going back more than 15 years.  Superimposed over them she wrote the sweetest comments to share her love for her precious dad.  Well.  I don’t know what else to say, except that I’m honestly not sure that I have ever see Scott so deeply moved. WHAT a remarkable and treasured gift!

Side note:  It was heartening to realize that I had taken many of those pictures.  = )

So, when all was said and done, although our celebration of Scott’s #46 was a bit unconventional, I think he truly felt our love for him.  It was a very teary-eyed, very happy birthday.

0 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Scott!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives